• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hello from Scotland.

Midnightlunchbox

Registered
First Name
Craig
Hi,

I've just joined the forums so I thought I'd say hello. I'm not really sure what to say about myself so here goes. I live in Aberdeenshire, been a joiner all my days and am now a lecturer in Carpentry & Joinery at Aberdeen College.

I have been turning for about 20 years now. I learned how to use a lathe whilst attending college as part of my apprenticeship and never looked back. I try to get out to the garage as much as I can but with two kids (6 and 2) and a wife that works shifts it can be sporadic.

I have been turning pens for about 5 years and I'm constantly learning. I have a real interest in hybrid blanks and higher end stuff and I'm looking forward to picking up more tips on here.

Thanks for reading this,
Craig Daniel

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Welcome to the forum Craig, it sounds like you won't need a lot of help from us, you might give us some tips. How about showing us some pictures of what you've made?

Barry

Graduate Member
First Name
Barry
Hi Craig welcome to the forum hi end blanks you can find on here and a lot of low end dead beats who take a lot of meds:face::face:

Midnightlunchbox

Registered
First Name
Craig
Hi lads, thanks for the replies. I have tried to attach some pictures of a couple if recent pens but I'm on my ipad so I'm not sure it will work! Both are turned from hybrid blanks from George Watkins (I think his stuff is terrific).

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    26.5 KB · Views: 45