• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

And so it begins. .. Hello there!

GSteer

Registered
First Name
Greg
Hey there folks, my names Greg and I'm an early thirties IT engineer who's looking for more than just turning ones into zeros and vice versa. That's the easy bit outta the way :)

I've been a fountain pen user since my school days and in recent years have acquired a variety of pens, inks and papers. I'd say my first introduction to a turned pen, that wasn't made by a major manufacturer, was an Edison Pearl via a group buy on the Fountain Pen Network back in 2012. I was highly impressed with the fit and finish. After that I got stuck into looking at the different materials people were using, other people that were making custom pens and a general kernel of interest formed.

A couple of things struck me a few weeks back:

1- There are more materials out there that I'd love a pen made from than I can afford to have others produce.
2- I have some friends getting married early next year and a hand made pen would make an awesome gift. Luckily they have expressed an interest in a nice pen but don't know I'm intending to make one for them.

So I decided to have a chat with my dad who restores vintage and classic bikes as his hobby and has a workshop to support this including a lathe and mill. One conversation turned into another and I was on the receiving end of a lathing lesson on how to make swarf. Turns out I'm not bad at making nothing from something so far!