• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Acrylic polish

Bigblackdog

Registered
First Name
Mark
I am relatively new to turning acrylic and ebonite. The few that I have done, I have wet sanded with micro meshed through the grits to 12000. I have, in general got a good finish, and on those that I haven't, it is my error rather than the process.

I am looking at alternative options, to speed the task up a bit, and have seen mentions of using a plastic polish. Some people seem to use it after 12000 grit, but some manufacturers claim that you can sand to 600 and apply the polish to receive a flawless finish. Does anybody find this to be the case, or is it a pipe dream?

There seem to be several out there, both marketed at pen turners, and more generalised.

Any particular recommendations for the brands? I would have bought the Hut and though no more about it, but Turners Workshop are out of stock and have been for some time.

chas_41_uk

Registered
First Name
Chas
You can't speed up quality if your doing it by hand!
If you want to sand to 600 grit and then polish, I would advise doing an experiment first, using two identical acrylic blank.

1. sand one blank to 600 grit and then polish
  2. sand the other blank to 12000 grit and then polish
  3. Compare the difference
Personally I think the difference will be obvious :thumbs:

Bigblackdog

Registered
First Name
Mark
If you want to sand to 600 grit and then polish, I would advise doing an experiment first, using two identical acrylic blank.

point taken.