PDA

View Full Version : why doesn't it stay logged in?



Pierre
09-02-16, 12:27
When I log in there is a remember me space to tick but it doesn't work like on other forums, I have to log in every time, is it me or the forum software?

PG

Buckeye
09-02-16, 12:41
When I log in there is a remember me space to tick but it doesn't work like on other forums, I have to log in every time, is it me or the forum software?

PG

When you have finished do you log out? If I don't log out, but just close the browser window then I am still logged in to the site and next time I open a browser window for the site it is just there, no logging in to do.

Peter

ni9eofse7en
09-02-16, 13:25
Same as Pierre for me since joining.

Pierre
09-02-16, 14:41
When you have finished do you log out? If I don't log out, but just close the browser window then I am still logged in to the site and next time I open a browser window for the site it is just there, no logging in to do.

Peter
Nope I just hit the x and have to log in again (even within 2 seconds ie if I hit the x by mistake) , but I didn't at the very beginning. However all the other forums I do the same thing but don't have to relog in, apart from if I leave it a couple of days or so.

Buckeye
09-02-16, 14:51
I know that if I log out and then log in without ticking the "remember me" box then I have to log in each time, but if I tick the "remember me" box then I stay logged in until I log out which could be days or weeks.

Maybe Jim can throw some light on it when he gets online.

Peter

Bill Mooney
09-02-16, 15:17
Pierre says he's hitting the x. I think he's closing the tab instead of just closing the browser thus effectively logging out. I may be wrong but this is how I think it's happening. Hope it helps.

Grump
09-02-16, 15:36
Sounds more like browser settings than forum faults to me init?

woodhacker
09-02-16, 16:44
Mine has no "remember me" button and if I go into another tab for a few minutes I have to log in again. :thinks:

woodhacker
09-02-16, 18:33
OOOPS found the remember me button :goesred::goesred::goesred:

Jim
09-02-16, 18:50
Guess the problem lies with the browser Pierre, if you tick the Remember Me box you will remain logged in on your return, without ticking the box if you are inactive for 15 minutes you will be logged out ..

Pierre
09-02-16, 19:41
Guess the problem lies with the browser Pierre, if you tick the Remember Me box you will remain logged in on your return, without ticking the box if you are inactive for 15 minutes you will be logged out ..

I tick the remember me button every time both at the top of the screen and in the formal log on page having tried both, it works on the AFTAB forum and the wwi forum.

PG

Penpal
09-02-16, 20:49
No probs over here Pierre I X all the time.

Peter.

ZuluTiming
09-02-16, 22:22
It is your browser. Nothing wrong with the forum.

Which browser are you using? When you input the Username/password does it offer to save the password for the site?

For Firefox: tools -> options -> security -> remember passwords for sites [make sure it is ticked]

chas_41_uk
09-02-16, 23:28
I have the "Remember me" box ticked and it doesn't forget who I am, whether I close the tab or the browser.
The only time I have to log back in is if I use something like CC Cleaner to delete temporary or potentially unwanted files etc

wm460
10-02-16, 07:59
It is your browser. Nothing wrong with the forum.

Which browser are you using? When you input the Username/password does it offer to save the password for the site?

For Firefox: tools -> options -> security -> remember passwords for sites [make sure it is ticked]

This is what I do.


I have the "Remember me" box ticked and it doesn't forget who I am, whether I close the tab or the browser.
The only time I have to log back in is if I use something like CC Cleaner to delete temporary or potentially unwanted files etc

Just make sure that you have all your pas words written down.:sob:

Phil Dart
10-02-16, 09:18
You need to go to the password settings for your browser and your operating system. I think that at some point you inadvertently told your browser never to remember the login in details for this forum. The remembering part is all down to a cookie on your own computer, and somewhere along the line, your computer has disabled that cookie.

Pierre
10-02-16, 12:56
Thanks for all the suggestions but having trawled through all of internet explorer all of your suggestions were in place. The only thing that I can put is down to is that I have a new computer and it is a full installation of windows 10 as opposed to an upgrade from windows 7 or 8 so I think that it must be in their setup although it did import my old windows settings and favourites correctly because other forums log in without any problems. I shall continue to investigate :vangry:

PG

ZuluTiming
10-02-16, 13:10
Windows 10 has Microsoft Edge as opposed to Internet Explorer.
In the Microsoft Edge browser, select More actions (…) > Settings > View Advanced Settings (Offer to save passwords: ON)> Manage my saved passwords.

See if the Penturners.co.uk entry is there?

21William
10-02-16, 14:33
I used to have a similar problem using a tablet on one website. Clearing the cache sorted the problem.

Grump
10-02-16, 16:31
I have a full install of windows 10. I don't use Edge as my web browser.
I use Chromium or whatever the M$ equivalent is, my settings are saved with google not M$, accessed through the browser init?
when first visiting the forums google asks me if I want to save password, yes, nope, never, all Mozilla browsers give the same option as far as I am aware.
I suggest you clicked on never

Penpal
10-02-16, 17:50
The plot thickens how is the rest of 10 going Pierre?

Peter.

bassethound
10-02-16, 19:12
I don't and won't ever let any browser rem my passwords! :rolling:

Pierre
10-02-16, 19:55
Gosh even more suggestions, thanks again.

First of all I find that Microsoft Edge is too intrusive with adverts and suggestions and Microsoft driven bits and pieces as are the others (with their own vested interests). Having got Internet Explorer to where I have it doing what I want it to do through many iterations, (except of course this one element), I am determined to break it in, (it could of course be my internet security), but as a person who builds and repairs computers for the locals, I could hardly recommend anything other than a strong IS program could I? The main problem with is time ie my own time with turning, boxmaking, volunteer computing and land maintenance (we have 14 acres and barns and house etc). I don't have the time to just sit and work out every cookie permutation when it all worked correctly originally. Keep in mind all this happened between a changeover to a new computer and Microsoft initiating several huge software changes with their Live.com move.

So I was really just hoping that it was the forum software knocking me out after that last change that was made to it. So its back to the drawing board sometime this month:rant:

PG:winking:

Pierre
10-02-16, 20:48
Cracked it!! Now back to the evening job!!

Thanks for all the suggestions.

PG

Grump
10-02-16, 20:53
Well?
Don't keep us in suspenders what was it?

Pierre
10-02-16, 21:12
Well?
Don't keep us in suspenders what was it?


Thanks for that Brian it allowed me to test the auto log on from email as well. It was a combination of removing a java applet that I didn't need, changing the IE explorer default to auto log on a site (this was default in IE9 but not in IE11 and I believe it is default in Chrome and Mozilla but I haven't checked them) and removing 2 other log on credentials to the UK pen turners site which were in the Web credential manager. (although I not too sure that the latter really did much but it did tidy up that bit).

PG :thumbs:

Penpal
10-02-16, 21:16
Was it this? :phew::gone:

Peter

Jim
10-02-16, 21:18
Pleased that it is sorted Pierre, and now it is sorted it will be a good thread to look back on should others have the same issue .. :thumbs:

Pierre
10-02-16, 21:36
Pleased that it is sorted Pierre, and now it is sorted it will be a good thread to look back on should others have the same issue .. :thumbs:

Yes but they should only need to check the auto log on on the bottom of the security tab in IE - options - tools. I had done it right initially but it was the java applet/program that I had written which was autorunning in the background and which should not have been so it was a self inflicted injury that was returning me back to the original state. But since I am a rubbish java programmer I forgot to turn it off. :sob:

As for the web credentials as I said it may be that they conflicted or it maybe that they just needed tidying up. Anyway it made me check my own system this time instead of someone else's!:whistling:

PG

PG

wm460
11-02-16, 07:02
You have lost me Pierre.:sob::sob:

donwatson
12-02-16, 17:58
Thanks for bringing this up Pierre. I have finally got it sorted again.

Pierre
12-02-16, 21:42
Thanks for bringing this up Pierre. I have finally got it sorted again.


Ermm did you have the same problem?

Because it got worse...... At the same time as I was thinking I had it sorted, it all went wrong again and 2 hours later I was back to status quo (whom I like but don't mean!!).

Finally after many diagnostics, it turned out that Microsoft was doing a massive update at exactly the same time and each iteration of their update would revert back to their default.....NOT only that, despite their statement on their update about all the files being left where they were they then proceeded to delete several apps that I use because they were not up to date!! These apps did not originate from Microsoft.

So having though I had it cracked there was then 24 hours of 'WTF' followed by Microsoft shutting up and me getting it back to order.

For those of you who's windows 10 machines have not yet done the update, be prepared there is a massive set of updates in the pipeline which will take between 20 mins and 2 hours depending on the speed of your broadband and your computer, just let them run till they peter out then examine the detritus after.

PG :rant:

donwatson
13-02-16, 12:34
Sorry Pierre,
I have had a problem signing on to the forum since the last update. I have to put my Username in and then my Password every time (not really a problem, more of an inconvenience). I now logon using Firefox and it remembers me :winking:
I use Linux on my machines but I have Win 7 on the grandson's machine and it keeps pushing me to accept Win 10. It has already installed 6Gb (six Gigabytes) of Win 10 on the HD in the folder '$Windows.~BT'. There is no point in getting rid of this file as Windows Update will reload at the next update. It is possible to remove the file but there are other problems occurring with the Win 10 install such as the practice of deleting files from your computer. Win 10 is actively removing files and storing them in 'Windows .old', they can be restored but possibly better to re-install them.

take care
Don W

Pierre
13-02-16, 16:45
Hi Don, if you are doing a windows 10 update from win 7 or 8 then once the update is complete you can ignore win.old except for when you need space later on it only uses this folder to recover you back to the win 7 or 8. BUT once the update is complete then you must go into command prompt (admin) (right click on the start button) and once in the DOS box type 'SFC /SCANNOW' because the update breaks a few files, just let it run to its conclusion, and the system should have far less faults.

Also turn on system protection, System Protection (formerly System Restore) is turned off by default in Windows 10. Given that there’s no way to opt out of Windows Updates once the operating system is installed, this creates a potential problem if a future update is found to contain a serious bug. This is unlikely, but not impossible.

So it’s a good idea to re-enable System Protection so that you can undo a future Windows Update if you need to. Open an Explorer window, right-click This PC and choose Properties. When the window opens, select System Protection in the left pane, then select your C: drive in the dialog box that opens, click the Configure button and select the Turn on system protection option.

Hope that helps

PG :winking:

Penpal
13-02-16, 20:36
Most all of the technical stuff flew over my head I must say how pleased I was during the week when my grandson spent time from Sydney with my machine a Lenovo ( he is in IT as a Lenovospecialist). Only took him a short time pronounced it clean and advised me not to venture into 10 at this time.

Peter.

Grump
13-02-16, 21:40
I don't normally get dragged into public comments about any software other than to say it's crap or good.
When I give help it is done privately, for two reasons, one/ because everyone is an expert or had an expert look at it especially when it comes to M$ and Windows
Two/ You will get so many conflicting arguments you will end up chasing in ever decreasing init? And we all know where that ends up.

I have already said in another thread that the latest ISO is a complete install and you can register with your win 7 or 8 key.
If you are not using Build 10586.104 Version 1511 then you do not have the latest build. There is no update to it yet.

IE is in win 10 and always has been, Edge is an experimental browser as is Spartan, M$ have not made a decision on which they will continue with if any.
Like Google has OK Google M$ has Cordona simply shout "hey Cordona at your confuser and it will do the same as OK Google provided you have not switched it off like me init?
Shout "hey Cordona start internet explorer" and it will, however as from 12 January 2016 IE11 is on basic and limited support with no security updates and no further updates planned.

Win 10 is Vista the same as 7 & 8 / 8.1, nothing has been taken away but much has been moved or added.
As such the dos program System file checker (SFC.exe) referred to above is old, unreliable and not currently recommended for use with win10, it only checks the system files and faults can lie elsewhere.

I hate to admit it but windows 10 is reliable and stable build on Vista technology, if you are having issues with deleted programs it will be because they were not installed correctly or not installed to the windows program files.
If you are having install issues from a Microsoft ISO it is because you have not prepared the install media correctly or not downloaded it fully.

Log in to web pages and forums is not a O/S issue it is a browser issue, the only way the operating system will interfere is if you or your expert has been tempering with things they know little about.
I recommend a fresh install of win 10 from the latest ISO, partition the Hdd and install to a fresh new partition, ion other words follow the on screen instructions and on't tamper with it.

wm460
13-02-16, 22:51
Geez Think I will stick to widow 7 till it goes the way of XP and the dinnersaus.:thinks:

donwatson
14-02-16, 10:19
@Pierre Thanks for that Pierre, I think I will stick with my Linux machines until such times as my grandson comes to use his machine.
@Grump Thanks Grump I have the ISO and it will be used at the appropriate time. It could be a case of a little knowledge being a dangerous thing. My original problem was a browser issue, I had ticked NOT to remember password etc. which meant entering details every time I came on here. :sob: