• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Robinia burr‏ what is it worth

bellringer

The Young one
Registered
First Name
Alex
i have been offered this burr and want to know what it is worth
SDC10620.jpg

SDC10624+%25281%2529.jpg

SDC10625.jpg

it has some saw-en wood on one face and it is 15x15x3

any ideas

turnaround360

Caracktycus Pots
Fellow
First Name
Frank
Alex aka Black locust it is a really hard wood and I would say quite rare to find a burr like that I think and I'm no expert ,but I would say no change out of 40 quid but they can go through the roof on price If you calculate how many pen blanks you could get out of it at £3 quid a blank that gives you something to think about hopefully someone like Woody might be able to give you a better idea. Frankie.

Jim

Grand Master
I don't know the value, but i wouldn't mind looking in the middle of that burr ... :ciggrin:

Neil

Fellow
First Name
Neil
Alex,

Robinia burrs very easily in the UK. It is native to the South East of North America where it grows straighter and yields planks. It was planted extensively by the Victorians in their desire to create Ornamental gardens. The wood will shift little when you cut it but the flame and burrs will contract and move significantly. I'm afraid I don't concur with Frankie on the value, its certainly not worth £3 a blank to a purchaser, more like 50-75p and if thats the cost, to be honest its not worth acquiring if you reckon you are going to cut it and sell it on.