PDA

View Full Version : Serious Beginner Problems with Ca Finish

Oistea
26-06-18, 20:30
hey there,
i have tried and failed to make a CA Finish on my pens.

I have read several Tutorials and im trying to do it exactly like that.

1. i am sanding up to 800 Grit
2. cleaning and removing dust
3. applying a thin coat of CA (this one: Bob Smith Super Gold+ Medium Thick Odorless Gap Filling Foam Safe CA Glue | Model Merchants (https://modelmerchants.com/shop/bob-smith-super-gold-medium-thick-gap-filling-foam-safe-ca-glue/))
4. then i let it "dry" for 24 hours
repeat steps 3-4
i did 3 coats and did the sanding polishing after...

my PROBLEM is, that the finish wont go Hard. even if i wait 24 hours between coats i can leave a deep mark with my fingernails.

I am a Beginner..but i dont know where my mistake could be.
any help is appreciated
thanks
-martin-

Bigblackdog
26-06-18, 21:06
try a different CA. In this heat, it should take seconds to dry and allow you to recoat.

I have used a few different ones, but none are gap filling, so I suspect that is your issue.

There are 1001 ways of applying it. choose 1 and stick with it. If you pick and choose from various methods you will be confused. if it works, its the best way!!

silver
26-06-18, 22:13
Verwenden Sie CA nicht als Finish, es ist ein Klebstoff und nicht als Finish.:rolling:

Sorry, had to do it..
Welcome on board, you have come to the right place for help.

TBH it's possibly down to the type of CA you are using, you need thin CA for putting on to pens.. (it's not a finish tho, it's a glue:thumbs:)

If you use the thin you can coat the pen and it will set in minutes, you could use an accelerator as well, but to be honest better moving away from it..

If you have a look in the tutorials section there is one that Phil Dart has put on for finishing pens with something that is actually a finish.. called Melimine Lacquer.

Penpal
26-06-18, 22:17