• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hello from Glenrothes

Mike Dempsey

Came across this forum last night, had a browse and then joined.
I have been making pens for about 15 years now. I mainly make them for the corporate sector as I have drastically reduced the number of craft fairs and exhibitions I attend. I have my own laser and can engrave company logos, wording etc on the boxes and pens.
Woodturning is only a small part of my business and I mainly do specific items for the whisky industry made in the main from timber.
I have an Alaskan mill and mill all my own timber from local windblown trees and then kiln dry it. I can mill up to about a 32" log and any bigger get my mate in work with him as he can do up to about a 50" log with his set up.
I am in the process of redesigning my kiln and hopefully it will be built and running before the new year. I broke up the first one about a year ago as I wasn't happy with its performance and since then have been working my way through a couple of hundred cubic feet of oak, yew, elm, ash, beech and sycamore.
Having to spend about 1k on oak during the summer has spurred me on to finish the new kiln project!

Mike

Neil

Fellow
First Name
Neil
Welcome Mike, good to see another resident north of the border join the forum, enjoy, but watch out, the softy southerners are mad as hatters :whistling::whistling::funny::funny:
Watch out you imitation jock, from where I originally hail from, youre a bloody southerner matey so steady on!!!!