• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hello from a complete beginner

DJH146

Apprentice Member
Hi everyone,

My name is Denis and I live in the Orkney Isles, off the north coast of Scotland.

As the title of the thread suggests I am a total beginner having turned the grand total of zero pens. Being a keen golfer I was looking for something to do in the winter nights as it's too dark in the evenings now. My Uncle does a lot of pen turning and my Dad has just started so I thought I would give it a go too.

Had my first ever go using a lathe tonight and predictably it was a disaster, started out ok but got a bit carried away trying to shape it and ruined it. Enjoyed doing it though and my Dad is a patient teacher so hopefully it's onwards and upwards.

I've had a look at some of the pictures of other peoples pens on here and I'm stunned by the level of craftsmanship on display, they are works of art. Hopefully I'll manage to get something made I can post a picture of here too.

Thanks for reading and hopefully I'll not ask too many daft questions.

Cheers

Denis

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Welcome to the forum Denis. Everyone has to start somewhere and you will soon pick it up and be making cracking pens in no time with limitless help from the people on this site.

yorkshireman

Wood Rat
Executive Member
First Name
Keith
Welcome aboard Denis. Ask any questions you like you'll find lots of help on here. Look forward to your first photos.

keith

Woody

Registered
First Name
no