• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Sorby Turnmaster or traditional tools for a newbie?

deejaymobile

Apprentice Member
Hi all,

Would there be any advantage / disadvantage in going for the Robert Sorby Turnmaster tools instead of say a Roughing gouge, Beading tool to start my woodturning journey? Would I need the grinder set-up for sharpening with the Turnmaster set too? Please bear in mind I am a complete novice with turning.

Sorry if these questions have previously been answered, but I did search the forum and couldn't seem to find anything that answered my questions.

Any help or advice greatly appreciated. I did post a very similar question on a different non penturning forum and am just after any opinions or views here too.

Cheers,

Dave.

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
Sorry I cant help you with this one a little information on what you intend to turn would be a great help as there are chisels that are designer for different jobs like spindle work and bowl turning

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Hi Dave, I have found that tools are a very personal thing and therefore different people use different tools. Some may use a skew chisel for just about everything and others a roughing gouge and skew chisel or a spindle gouge. I have bought a variety of tools to try and usually revert to a roughing gouge and skew chisel for pens. If there is anyone near to you that you could try or be shown how to use the various tools, then that would help you to decide.

Woody

Registered
First Name
no