• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Me doing a jig with my Grumps

Charly Cheeky Chops

Apprentice Member
Hi all.
I went into garage with my dad today to show him what I can do on the lathe, now very soon I hit a major obstacle.
I have always drilled on the lathe at Grumps and I don't have the luxury of his tools at home so I had to use my drill press.
I have never used this thing before so was relying on my dad to help, he did his best but still couldn't stop me from crying.
How do you drill through the blank when the drill wont go deep enough, "I want my Grumps" I was howling.
Dad phoned him up but couldn't understand what he was being told and he had to go to work so couldn't help me.
Now I am not a weepy sort of girl and having 3 brothers have had to toughen up, although I do girly things I do boys things too, and crying is not one of them.
I was sobbing uncontrollably, so much so that Angie put me in her car and drove me to my Grump.
Instant cheer when he said we do a jig and started dancing with me all the way to his shed, where he sat and explained if Mohamed won't come to the mountain then we must bring the mountain to Mohamed.
I was now having a drill press lesson where I learned quickly about quill travel and the reason for my frustration then Grumps explained how a screw car jack works and what a cam is, how we can apply those principles to lift my vice to the drill instead of getting the drill to travel further down.