• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

hi from pen turning beginner in north derbyshire.

sharpy

Apprentice Member
First Name
matt
Im a complete beginner in the world of pen turning. as yet, ive not purchased any lathes or accessories. there seems a massive choice on the market and have registered on here to benefit from others experiences and advice on what I should be looking at.
regards

PhillH

Little Grandad
Registered
First Name
Phill
Welcome, I'd say you're in the right place as this place is friendly without everyone being "up their own arris"

There is a massive choice for sure, your budget will narrow it down, unless it's a big budget, in which case your in for a fun ride trying to choose :funny:

Ask away as there are lot's of people with a huge knowledge on here.

I'll qualify myself out of that group btw, as I have a huge amount still to learn as you will notice from the rubbish I ask occasionally.

Pull up a chair, grab a tea and enjoy your stay !

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Welcome Sharpy, come in, shut the door and sit down.

Now what is it you have already, knowledge equipment etc.

Grump

Grand Master
First Name
Brian
Welcome Sharpy.
What sort of budget do you have? Where will you be staging your miracles? How much room do you have?
I ask because you could just start with a second hand benchtop lathe and perform all of your tasks on this with some modifications.
Or go for the full blown workshop kit and all mod cons, or indeed anywhere in between.