• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

First attempt at proper turning!

Matt

Registered
Hello everyone.
Had a bit of time today so thought I'd bite the bullet and put some proper wood on my new lathe and attempt my first bowl. I'm new to turning and, up till now, I've been using softwood offcuts to mess around with. Needless to say that I found hardwood very very different!
The wood is obviously Ash and measures approx 8" X 4", the wall thickness is approx 6mm (too scared I'd screw it up if I went any thinner!) Tools used were a chepo Axminster bowl gouge and my homemade carbide cutter tool. Finished with Chestnuts Woodwax 22. Really really enjoyed making it and very keen to turn more.
Apologies for the picture quality but too little light to take them outside and lost a lot of resolution when resizing them!
View attachment 3967

ps. Many thanks to Jim for answering all my newbie questions :thumbs:

edlea

Lobbygobbler
Registered
First Name
Ed
That looks fantastic Matt ..I wish I had the where-withall to do something like that ...brilliant mate.:thumbs:

Grump

Grand Master
First Name
Brian
What a damn fine bowl Matt.
Don't apologise for the pictures it's a real treat to see your first bowl.
That is absolutely cracking mate well done.
Pleased you enjoyed it so much too there'll be now stopping you now init?

Jim

Grand Master