• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hi everyone start up equipment advice needed for newbie

kaymania

Apprentice Member
Hi everyone, just to introduce myself here and ask for your help.

Basically I'd like any advice on starting out in pen turning on a tight budget (around £200 incl all bits required etc).
I'm a total novice and recovering from a long illness so just want to start this great and fascinating looking hobby
for an hour or so a day to get me moving and using my brain. I only have an interest in turning pens and nothing else
so please advise just for pens.

I've done a bit of research etc online but problem is I can't stay on pc for hours as my brain function is limited. I'm improving slowly - but this is why I'd like some real help in getting going. I know for sure I only want to turn pens as I do other bits and
pieces of craft so I'm sure I won't want to start doing great big jobs as soon as I invest in a mini lathe!!:-))

Any advice greatly appreciated and thanks for taking the time to read this.

turnaround360

Caracktycus Pots
Fellow
First Name
Frank
Hi and welcome keep an eye on ebay for a cheap lathe and tools pen liys are on there also start with slimlines they are very versatile.

Woody

Registered
First Name
no