• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Need Help Casting

Suzan

Apprentice Member
I am making some hair stick out of clear casting resin. I have never done this before.
I have mixed the resin , poured into 9inch × 1inch tubes (added colour mica powder). Left for about a week so set well. The problem I am having is they are snapping in half as I knock them out of the tube. Has any body any idea what I am doing wrong. Regards Suzan

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
Hi Suzan and welcome to the forum sorry I cant help with your question but someone will be along soon who will be able to help you I'm sure

Suzan

Apprentice Member
Thanks Rowdy, taken a look. I think I am going to have another go with a different batch of resin. I will follow your instructions, might get it right this time. I have bought a resin blank to try it out on my lathe, the result was pretty good but far to small for an adult. My grandaughter set eyes on it and it's gone. regards Suzan

edlea

Lobbygobbler
Registered
First Name
Ed
Hi Susan ..welcome to the forum...can you throw any light on what you do by posting up some pictures ?

Grump

Grand Master
First Name
Brian
Hi Suzan and welcome to the forums.I believe you mean this sort oif thing.
For those who don't know what hair sticks are, I wear them all the time iinit?
Glad Rowdy has sorted you out, he knows what he is talking about.

20140201_172736.jpg

hair-accessories-hair-sticks.jpg

Jim

Grand Master