• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

metal lathes

bellringer

The Young one
Registered
First Name
Alex
Hi All

Has any on here used a metal lathe in pen turning

and if so what for

and what lathe

Jim

Grand Master
I haven't, but i have seen a few used on Youtube, one i liked was how he turned all his Acrylic blanks .. :thumbs:

wm460

Grand Master
Tennant Creek, Northern Territory, Australia.
First Name
Mark
I have a Steelmaster 9 X 20 Variable Speed metal lathe, it is re-badge and painted for what ever company buys them, The Seppo's call it the 9 X 19. Grizzly is one of their sellers.
I only turn metal on mine, I don't want all that fine wood/acrylic dust mixing with the oil and clogging it up.

Hindsight I should have bought a bigger lathe, 20 mm spindle bore is too small for me.

I make pens out of aluminium, brass,copper, rio, s/steel, parts for pens.

Will find pic later and post.

bellringer

The Young one
Registered
First Name
Alex
the reson for asking this question was because as i am an enginerring student i could se the benfits of been able to make and adapt kit.
now all i need to do is convince my parrets that it a good idea as you can pick a good second hand colchester of harrison lathes for a resanble price :thinks:

trapper

Registered