• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Didn't know were to put these

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
Just made two walking sticks no turning but thought someone might be interested I have never done this before so be gentle the one with the ball I may change to a mahogany thick or a cane
DSCF2398.JPGDSCF2401.JPG
DSCF2399.JPGDSCF2397.JPG

naxie

Registered
Very nice Woody!

I have to use one to stop me falling over, they are certainly alot nice than the metal extenable ones I use.
I think ill have to put them on my "to do" list. :thinks:

What sort of wood would be best to use, I put quite alot of weight through mine so it would need to be pretty stiff?

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
Very nice Woody!

I have to use one to stop me falling over, they are certainly alot nice than the metal extenable ones I use.
I think ill have to put them on my "to do" list. :thinks:

What sort of wood would be best to use, I put quite alot of weight through mine so it would need to be pretty stiff?

Same here mate at times LOL I used Hazel I got it from here along with the colars, Horn and the wrong size ferrals STICKMAKING SHOP walking stick supplies

edlea

Lobbygobbler
Registered
First Name
Ed
Brilliant mate ...I have had a great piece of blackthorn given to me ..seeing yours has inspired me to do something with it.:down:

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
I was going to have a go at stick dressing when I was told I had to give up turning but now I have been given the all clear stick dressing has gone out the window

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul