• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

What to buy to cast a small bowl ?

PhillH

Little Grandad
Registered
First Name
Phill
Right, a while ago on here someone posted a video of a guy making bowls from offcuts set into resin.

I've had an idea (dangerous) that I really want to try out.

So to do something similar then, setting "something" small (lots of them) into a clear resin to then finish turn.

What do I need to buy?

I have the bowls to use as the moulds, so it's the resiny stuff, I have no experience of doing anything like this before.

I probably won't do much of this so don't need stuff in industrial quantities.

All advice gratefully received.

Grump

Grand Master
First Name
Brian
My bestest advise is don't bother, stick with real wood you have plenty of it from the sound of your excursion at the weekend show us some of that init?

PhillH

Little Grandad
Registered
First Name
Phill
My bestest advise is don't bother, stick with real wood you have plenty of it from the sound of your excursion at the weekend show us some of that init?

You're not kidding, there's boatloads of it thanks to that very nice man Mr Lawton.

I'll be doing some at the weekend don't worry, I may just take a pic of the garage floor to hack some people off tonight. :ave_it::ave_it:

kjmc1957

Registered
Hi Phil