• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hi there

Timmy Johnson

Apprentice Member
First Name
Tim
Hi people,

Just aquired a small lathe from my late uncle along with a few tools to turn with, he used to make pens on the lathe and now that has given me the same interest.

I am looking for a list of what to aquire so that i can go to the workshop and actually make a pen from start to finish. Just to add i have never worked with wood before so complete newbie here. I have been looking around the site for a few days now and like what i have seen now i feel i need to take part.

Tim

Neil

Fellow
First Name
Neil
Tim,

Welcome to the forum, we hope that you find help, humour and enjoyment amongst the waffle within these epages. Its a bit difficult to list exactly what you will need as the list is likely to be both daunting and wrong! I guess the first step is to declare exactly where you are in the country and someone might be just around the corner who could give you a hand. Alternatively the less reliable way would be to post a copy of what you have. You may find that one or two members here will have the same set up and be able to give you specific advice rather than generic pointers.

If your uncle used to make pens, its a fair bet that you wont need much but without knowing what you've got its a bit of a stab in the dark.

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Welcome Tim.

As Neil said, where in the country are you and what've you got already. Photos are good to show us

bassethound

Executive Member
First Name
Ted