• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Complete beginner !

Lainey

First Name
Elaine
Hello to you all,
I suppose I can't even describe myself as a beginner , I've got as far as buying two books, looking on "You Tube" and searching out this forum . So I guess I'm a pr-beginner. I've never even been in the same room as a lathe, so that clearly defines my level of skill and knowledge ! We has to fell an on oak tree that has sentimental significance to our family. Although small by oak tree standards, I feel there will be enough wood to make something . I am hoping to have a plant stand made of the trunk. Having kept all the branches , I wondered if I would be able to make pens from them . I would appreciate any information on seasoning , lathes, tools , and any other information I may need.
I note something is happening in York soon , Hopefully I may be able to attend ,
I look forward to participating in this forum,
Kind regards
Lainey

paulm

grave manibus faciendum
Registered
First Name
Paul
Hi Lainey,
You have just done the best thing you could before going and buying all you need to start turning. I'm not going to give you any advice as there are plenty of people on the forum who are far more qualified than me and able to do so... but beware, once you start turning you'll never be able to stop!

Welcome to the most friendly forum on the planet with lots of banter and good advice. :thumbs:

Jim

Grand Master