• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

New Guy

Harry

First Name
Harry
Hi all,

I'm brand new to pen turning and I have never done any wood turning, my interest having been in metalwork. My interest in pens came from an online article combining brass with acrylic and I was amazed how easy acrylic was to machine and polish on my metal lathe. I then went on to make a couple of coffee tampers with an acrylic handle and a stainless steel base. The amazing patterns in the various acrylics was mesmerizing and led to my interest in pen turning, the notion of being able to sell some pens to finance the hobby is appealing. So far I have made five pens in various styles, including a purple heart slimline with a CA finish (that took a bit of learning!). I only have the metal lathe, which is nowhere near as fast as a wood turning lathe, so I have to take my time, but I'm happy with what I have done so far.

I am retired(yes, another old fogey), so I don't have unlimited funds to buy materials and equipment. Hopefully, I can sell a few pens to fund a gradual expansion. I hope you all will make allowances for my lack of experience and I am looking forward to learning, with your help, how to improve.

Cheers,
Harry

rayf6604

Registered
First Name
Ray