• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Hello from Lancaster

AllenN

Fellow
First Name
Allen
Hello everyone. Just to introduce myself on this forum. I am based in the NW of England on the edge of the Forest of Bowland near Lancaster. I am a newby to the art of pen turning having only made a couple of dozen so far. I am pretty much self taught in pen turning courtesy of the 'inter web' and the advice I have found there. I have been a keen diy er for years but now I have largely retired and have more time I have moved over to more creative woodwork and turning.
So far I have mainly concentrated on wood 7mm standard pens but I have also made a few Baron rollerballs. I have tended to stick to more traditional finishes of sanding sealer, waxes and turners polish but I might give the CA methods a go shortly. As a chemist I have a healthy respect for the damage that stuff can do if not handled appropriately, and I do not mean just to ones fingers!