• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Old Hand - New to the Forum

RodN

First Name
Rod
I have been turning since I retired seven years ago. I used to own my own businesses, with branches all over the world, but one day I just decided to sell up and enjoy the more relaxed things in life. Nowadays when people ask me what I do (as if one's employment is a sort of status symbol), I just smile gently, and say "I play".

I spend much of my time here, which used to be an old coach house at the back of the house. Known by the other significant inhabitant of the house as the "Man Cave". Upstairs is the den with my computer and desks, downstairs is the workshop.

exterior1-600.jpg

ws12-01.jpg

The main tool....
ws12-02.jpg

I make pens, shaving brushes and a few other odd items when I feel like it. During the last seven years I have made 2,076 items, and have kept a record of each of them from day one. Each has a sequential production number, whether it is a shaving brush or pen.

My constant companion is Honey, a rescue dog who came into my life a couple of years ago. She was about to be put down at the dog pound. She is a collie/springer spaniel cross.

20130505-09s.jpg

My other great love is playing guitar, which I have been doing for around 55 years. Once upon a time I used to earn money doing that, but nowadays I just play in our local church.

r2.jpg

Cheers
Rod

Phil Dart

Executive Member
First Name
Phil