• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Heritage blank query?

Rob Stoakley

First Name
Rob
I mentioned elsewhere that I'm a complete newb to pen making but I've been given a quantity of heritage oak from the headstocks of the bells of St.Paul's Cathedral. However the cross section of each bit of oak means that I can only produce a blank which is 11mm square, which might pose a problem. I've been advised that the 'Slimline' kits from Axminster using a 7mm drill would be suitable but it would appear from some reading on the forum that they're a bit 'dire', whereas the Beaufort kits appear to be far superior.

Is there a Beaufort kit available for a beginner that would suit the 11mm blanks that I can produce or am I destined to make an unending array of 'Slimline' pens? - Rob

Attachments

• IMG_1667.jpeg
    IMG_1667.jpeg
    2.3 MB · Views: 9

Rob Stoakley

First Name
Rob
Check out the Web site.
Thanks for the prompt reply; I've spent quite some time looking at their stuff but it doesn't answer my question; is an 11mm square blank suitable to use with a Beaufort kit of some sort? If so, what would be recommended? - Rob

Edit - the only way I could make a 'fatter' blank would be to laminate four bits together, with say, a bit of contrasting veneer along the glue lines

TVS

Fellow
First Name
Woody
Any slimline kit will do look on ebay Years ago blanks for slimline kits were 1/2” square 11mm will turn a slimline but uou wont have a lot of room for error drill with care and you should be fine samm with corrian just 12mm but we turn slimlines from it

Rob Stoakley