• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Polyester verses polyurethane resin

Bigblackdog

Registered
First Name
Mark
what are the standard "acrylic" blanks typically made of? the ones that I have are from timberbits, which work out at about £1.20 each.

The PU certainly seems to have some advantages on this video.

rayf6604

Registered
First Name
Ray
I think all the blanks I've bought that were polyester said they were in the description. Anything else is possibly not but I'm no expert. However, as I found out recently, using a good tool on polyester and being careful it can be turned without any chip out. He was very rough in the way he attacked those blanks, but the PU stood up to it far better, that's for sure. As for drop test, I've never done it with a made up pen with a polyester blank and I do try to avoid polyester blanks. I've wasted quite a few polyester blanks that have blown out on me.:nonono::sob:

Buckeye

ペンメーカー
Executive Member
First Name
Peter
Turning both types of resin the same way will always show PR in a negative light, you wouldn't turn all woods the same way, especially if heavily spalted. Turn PR the way it should be turned and you will get ribbons flying off as well. PU definitely turns easier there is no debate about that and I have dropped a PR blank on concrete and it broke, I have also dropped a pen with PR and it didn't break or chip, but it did ding the bottom finial.

Peter

Tephy

First Name
Steve
I use polyurethane, Timberbits use Acetate ( another form of plastic ) as far as I am aware

Bigblackdog

Registered
First Name
Mark