• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

friction polish

yorkshireman

Wood Rat
Executive Member
First Name
Keith
I see a few people on here use friction polish on their wooden pens. Whilst this is undoubtedly quick how long does it last.

keith

Jim

Grand Master
I use one at work Keith that i made over a year ago, there is a slight bit of wear and tear but i do work in a glass factory ... :winking:

Woody

Registered
First Name
no
Friction polish is fine on pens I have been using it for over 20 years but if that is the finish you want to keep then it has to be looked after like any bit of polished furniture any type of furniture polish will do apply with a cotton cloth leave to dry for about 20 min then buff another way is to put on several coats of F/P then several coats of woodturners stick I am going to get some of the eee ultra shine polish that Jim uses tomorrow it seems to give a great finish they are the simple ways no doubt others will come in with other ideas this is just a very simple and quick way
One finish you cant put on top of F/P is oil it will just flake of very quickly

Neil

Fellow
First Name
Neil
you have to put wax finish over the top

Who says? I don't. I use Shellawax over a EEE base and it gives me a really durable finish. Customers get a leaflet on pen maintenance and are advised to give it a bit of furniture wax polish. My own pen I made from cocobolo five years ago I use on a construction site and havent polished it in five years and it still looks great.

sbwertz

First Name
Sharon