• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Up a creek without a paddle

neiloboe

Apprentice Member
Or even, majorly intrigued in a potential new hobby, but without a lathe!

Complete newbie here, as I'm sure you've gathered. I've been lurking on here for a while, as I'm looking to use pen turning as practice before moving on to more expensive projects...woodwind instruments!

Quick question...Are any of the sub £200 lathes on the market worth even a second glance? I realise that one of these wouldn't be the lathe of choice for most people on here, but I need to start somewhere and can't afford much more.

All advice greatly appreciated. From looking around the forum there seems to be an amazing knowledge base and a really friendly atmosphere!

neiloboe

Apprentice Member
Thanks. The Axminster one was actually the one I'd been looking at anyway. What else would I need as an absolute minimum to start out with pen turning ?

Grump

Grand Master
First Name
Brian
Hi Neiloboe and welcome to the friendly forum.
Personally I would look at second hand, local ads, ebay etc, you would get a better buy and maybe some extras IE: chuck and chisels.
Get some kits and away you go, the rest will build as it does naturally.
There are plenty of snobs who won't touch anything you could look at with that budget but its a hobby and a learning curve.
As far as I am concerned if it spins a log somewhere near center I can work on the rest of it.
Good luck to you mate.

silver

General dogsbody
Executive Member
First Name
Eamonn.