• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Multicoloured casting

ajmw89

Registered
First Name
Adam
Hi guys,

Was showing of some of the acrylic pens I've turned to some friends, who are avid football supporters (that and they work in marketing departments for the clubs they support!) and that gave me some ideas for casting blanks in various colours of football teams.

Now the questions I've got, as I've never done this before are:

If I mix up the stuff and add colours (blue and red for example) would they mix and go purple? If so, would i need to make 2 batches of it, one in blue and one in Red and mix together?

I'm assuming that if I mix one colour to another, they'll all be swirly and no way to get clear cut lines.

If I wanted clear lines, would I need to make one block of red and one block of blue, and then cut and glue it to get the effects I want (like in segmented pieces)?

Apologies for the rambling nature, that's kind of what I do when I think aloud!

Cheers,

Adam

Buckeye

ペンメーカー
Executive Member
First Name
Peter
If you want clear lines and 50/50 that is the easiest mix to do, you pour one colour into the mould and wait until it cures then pour the second colour on top.

Peter

Dalboy

Executive Member
First Name
Derek
Could you not cast ribbons then stand them on end and then add the second colour. I have seen it done on a u tube video but can't find it now

Buckeye

ペンメーカー
Executive Member
First Name
Peter
Could you not cast ribbons then stand them on end and then add the second colour. I have seen it done on a u tube video but can't find it now