• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

New Turner in Wensleydale

Bob Ellis

Graduate Member
First Name
Bob
Hi Folks,

I just stumbled on this thread by accident and I thought I might learn something by signing up, especially since I don't know any other pen turners and am almost completely self-taught. I have a small Sherline lathe that I bought a while ago to help me make components for a model railway that is in abeyance at the moment. I started making pens a few months ago and have made about 40 so far, mainly slimline ballpoints and pencils, but a few American and European style rollerballs and propelling pencils, plus a Tetra stylus pen for use with my tablet. Being self-taught, I have probably acquired lots of bad habits and am unaware of many useful tips that more experienced pen turners will regard as essential knowledge.