• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Midori Leather Covers

ValleyBoy

Graduate Member
First Name
Ash
Hi pen people

I decided that for 2024 I’m dedicating Sundays to being a day of rest (or basically messing around with anything other than making pens).

I’d bought a nice side of high grade 5oz vegetable dyed leather a while back, in fact it’s so long ago that I can’t remember why I bought it.

So I decided I needed to use it and, as I have no real experience working with leather, I was looking for a simple project. These midori journal covers served the purpose well as there’s no stitching involved and I do have quite a few small notebooks lying around.

So I made two sizes, A5 and small notebook which fits the Field Notes brand of small pads that I use a lot. I made a template from 3mm ply that I could trace around and punch holes through (I had a feeling they’d be popular so I put in the extra work up front so I could repeat it without having to think too much).

I spent quite a bit of time finishing the edges and making them look worn in a bit as the leather colour was very blocky, so I sprayed a bit of denatured alcohol over them to lift out some of the colour. I also treated them with my beeswax & mineral oil lotion that I made a while back because I didn’t want the spine to crack. I’m not sure if that’s the right thing to do but it’s what I had lying around and it did a great job of loosening them up a bit without making them too floppy.