PDA

View Full Version : Complete beginner !

Lainey
03-08-14, 10:00
Hello to you all,
I suppose I can't even describe myself as a beginner , I've got as far as buying two books, looking on "You Tube" and searching out this forum . So I guess I'm a pr-beginner. I've never even been in the same room as a lathe, so that clearly defines my level of skill and knowledge ! We has to fell an on oak tree that has sentimental significance to our family. Although small by oak tree standards, I feel there will be enough wood to make something . I am hoping to have a plant stand made of the trunk. Having kept all the branches , I wondered if I would be able to make pens from them . I would appreciate any information on seasoning , lathes, tools , and any other information I may need.
I note something is happening in York soon , Hopefully I may be able to attend ,
I look forward to participating in this forum,
Kind regards
Lainey

paulm
03-08-14, 10:29
Hi Lainey,
You have just done the best thing you could before going and buying all you need to start turning. I'm not going to give you any advice as there are plenty of people on the forum who are far more qualified than me and able to do so... but beware, once you start turning you'll never be able to stop!

Welcome to the most friendly forum on the planet with lots of banter and good advice. :thumbs:

Jim
03-08-14, 10:34
Welcome to the forums Lainey, we have all been in your predicament my friend .. :thumbs: You are doing the right thing in as far as trying to gather as much knowledge as you can before starting out, if you are wanting to get into this hobby i would suggest making a visit to see Philip Greenwood (http://www.tryacourse.co.uk/woodturning_course.html) at Hutton-le-Hole for some lessons .. If you can make the trip to the Meet that Neil Lawton is organising you will be able to talk with many members here including Philip Greenwood .. :thumbs:

Neil Lawton
03-08-14, 11:23
Hi Lainey welcome to the forum.