• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Learning to turn

Woodturning exchef

Apprentice Member
First Name
Alan
Hi,

I have been turning wood for three years now, all I know is self taught, and, if I do say so myself, I have a knack for the basics. I first used this as a therapy for myself after a succession of mental hiccups brought on by the pressures of running a 46 bedroom country house hotel, drinking, working months without a day off, 18 hour days, insomnia and the pressure of hotel life all caught up with me with a bang.

Three years latter the table in the dinning room is beginning to creak under the weight of finished items and I have finally plucked up the courage to do six craft fairs this year. Like my days in kitchen I love to learn new techniques and skills, and I am well aware of the fact I have some bad habits, I tend to just use my 1.25 inch skew chisel for everything being just one. I have also been told off by a guy on a pen turning discussion as I laughed off breaking two finger while trying to learn how to make bowls, personal safety in any job on any equipment is of importance, but to be honest, there is not one item of equipment in my workshop that is more dangerous than the industrial kitchen has to offer, and I always treat any piece of machinery with respect, and, accidents will always happen.