• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Minimum thickness of bowl blanks?

PolishPenTurner

First Name
Jeff
A friend of mine gave me a very nice piece of Purple Heart that is 1.75” thick x 5 1/2” wide x 7 feet long. In appreciation for him giving me this nice piece of wood I’m going to make him some bottle openers. However, I’d also like to make him a bowl out of Purple Heart which I think would look beautiful.

My question…..can I turn bowls from this wood when it’s only 1 3/4” thick? I’m fairly new to bowl turning and the different options that can be used to mount the blank onto my lathe…(ie…bowl turning threaded chuck and faceplates). The few bowls I’ve made have all been 3” or thicker.

If it’s not safe to turn this thin of a wood blank, can I laminate/glue two pieces of Purple Heart together to make a blank that would be 3 1/2” thick?

Thanks for any input. Wasn’t sure where to post this thread since it wasn’t related to pen turning.

Gert Fitcher

First Name
phil
Hot melt glue is your friend. Glue the blank to scrap. If the blank is heavier put spacers between the blank and the scrap so you can get a heated knife between them to release it. The pro I knew used hot melt for blanks up to 100lbs, this one was done with it, it was reversed only once - it's about 75mm deep, the base looks flat but is about 3mm hollow.
DSC02295.JPGDSC02294.JPG

PolishPenTurner

First Name
Jeff
OK....I apologize for my ignorance...but a few questions when using hot glue...