• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

The secret's out and people are buying!

steveisfound

Registered
First Name
Steve
Hi all

If you have seen any of my posts, you will know I am new to this pen turning (well.. woodturning in general really) lark and have become addicted!

My daughters said that I should "come out" on facebook at let my friends etc know about my addiction (and turning journey)....

Well.. I only use facebook really to see how my very extended family are doing generally and do not usually post much (cannot see why I would thank someone for a meal on FB... when I can just say thanks over the table!)

After much pushing and prodding from my girls... I have shared the fact that I have this new hobby and am sharing my journey with my friends... uploading photos of the things I turn, whenever I get the chance to turn....

Low and behold... shock.. horror... I received numerous public messages of support, along with quite a few private messages asking if I ever sell the things I make...specifically...pens!

Now, I never even considered selling these things I enjoy making as my hobby.... and to be honest... not really calculated what this hobby costs me (which would probably scare me..... tools...supplies etc.. lol)....