• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

UK kit suppliers - Sierra Vistas?

rtyuiop

Apprentice Member
First Name
Danny
Hi folks,

I'm a newbie pen turner down in Brisbane, Australia. Sierra Vista kits are one of my favourites (got some second hand from fellow Aussie), but nobody sells them down here, and bringing them in from the US is seriously expensive with the current exchange rate.

I thought buying some from the UK might work out cheaper, but so far I haven't been able to find a supplier who sells them - does anyone know of a UK source?

Cheers,

Danny

Buckeye

ペンメーカー
Executive Member
First Name
Peter
I just looked at the Sierra Vista from a US supplier and it doesn't look any different to the Sierras from Rizheng, they would probably be the best place to get them from or at least look at them to see if they are the same.

Peter

Penpal

Grand Master
First Name
Peter
Sierra then other names a small minefield to negotiate you are well situated in Brisbane with a few efficient dealers around you. Welcome from Canberra Danny.

Peter.

rtyuiop

Apprentice Member
First Name
Danny
Thanks for the welcomes, folks.

Buckeye - I think the Rizheng sierras are all the standard sierra size, aren't they? The vistas are slightly thicker (gives more thickness for castings or tricky wood blanks), and are slightly tapered, with one bushing a smidge smaller than the other.

Peter, yeah, we are lucky to have some great suppliers around here - just a shame nobody seems to stock this particular kit!

Cheers,

Danny

Buckeye

ペンメーカー
Executive Member
First Name
Peter