• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

fingwe

Registered
First Name
Melanie
I'm fairly new to woodturning, and although I have a fair number of woodturning tools, I've been sticking with the removable carbide tipped tools, as I'm no good at sharpening normal woodturning chisels. I'd like to be able to use, and sharpen, chisels like a 'proper' woodturner! :sob:

So, I'm looking for a foolproof sharpening solution. I'm not necessarily looking for the cheapest solution, but a cost effective solution would be nice. I've looked at things like the Pro Edge and Tormek systems, and I'm happy to buy one of them if they really are worth the cost. But if there's a more cost effective solution, please let me know. I'm not a DIY buff, so not great at creating my own jigs, or widgets, etc, so I'd prefer to buy most of the components, unless it's something super straightforward.

Any suggestions?

iandel

First Name
Ian
I use a Tormek and it is a super bit of kit. A friend of mine has the ProEdge and he rates that highly as well and prefers it to my system. I think the ProEdge is faster for re-profiling faster than the Tormek but as I am not re-profiling anything on a regular basis I prefer the slow satisfying almost tranquil action of the Tormek. It really is horses for courses and I am sure others will disagree.

Dalboy

Executive Member
First Name
Derek
I think you need to ask yourself will it be just turning tools that you would wish to sharpen. As some machine although very good will linit you to what can be sharpened

fingwe

Registered
First Name
Melanie
Thanks guys!