• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

I finally got bitten by the bug

jas46

Apprentice Member
First Name
jason
So I've been casting PR for a couple of months with so great results but I was getting annoyed at how brittle it was (I need a more robust product).
So I bit the bullet and bought a pressure pot, compressor along with some clear polyurethane resin and a shed load of mica colors
I feel like a kid at Christmas lmao
Just got to hook up the compressor and away I go :thumbs:

fortress

Registered
First Name
John
Wow Jason, looks like your going to make some colourful blanks. As for the brittle blanks, maybe you got the ratio off, once you get the mix right, you get ribbons when you turn, anyway, just a thought. Look forward to seeing those babies. :winking:

jas46

Apprentice Member
First Name
jason
Cheers John I hope I make some nice ones hehe
For me it's not the lathing that's the problem they lathe and polish up beautifully, it's the knock and drop that's the problem they either crack, split or shatter, for what I use them on it needs to be bump proof .
I will continue to use PR for pens as there is nowt wrong with it, I mix mine at about 1% which from what I've read is about right please correct me if that's wrong :thumbs:
I'm hoping to get some made I the next few days if I can hook up the compressor lol
Jas

Penpal

Grand Master
First Name
Peter
Up up and away Jason. Amazing how it goes. There is a great future in casting.