• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

introducing myself

seswicks shed

Registered
First Name
jon
hello all,

hi i am jon and i am a complete novice to turning,i have been woodworking for a bout a year now and have setup a nice little shed with most common tools(table saw,bandsaw,planer/thicknesser...etc...etc) and have really been enjoying the hobby,so i decided it was time to buy a lathe,which i have a little midi lathe,i have bought everything i need for turning pens(mandrel,mandrell saver,a second hand set of record power chisels,pen kits,LOADS of blanks...etc...etc) so i am all set to start practicing i just have a couple of questions if anyone can answer them please.

1 is it worth getting carbide tipped chisels now and start with them or get used to the more traditional tools first?

2 how do i go about putting a good edge on my tools? i have a grinder,and everything needed for normal bevel edge chisels,but have know idea where to start with lathe chisels,which is why i was thinking of the carbide tipped ones.

3 any pointers as how to start using my lathe,hints tips tricks?.

many thanks

mr jon seswick

Dalboy

Executive Member
First Name
Derek
Hi Jon and welcome.