• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Pen assembly

martin.pearson

First Name
Martin
This has probably been discussed but since I am not very good at forum searches thought it best to just ask.

When you assemble twist pens that have a grain pattern that you are trying to match between the top & bottom sections of the pen how do you align the 2 parts? With the nib out as the pen would be used for writing or with the nib in as it would be when not in use? I guess you could always put a small note in with the pen explaining to the customer how to change it so they can decide for themselves lol

Bill Mooney

Blind old git
Grand Master
First Name
Bill
I’m a nib out man. I was always told to photograph my pens with the nib out & if you’re using the photos to promote your pens then the grain should match to show your pens at their best.

martin.pearson

First Name
Martin
I’m a nib out man. I was always told to photograph my pens with the nib out & if you’re using the photos to promote your pens then the grain should match to show your pens at their best.

Was there a reason for photographing with the nib out? I have assembled all the pens I have made with the nib in as a couple of others have said & I photograph them with the nib in so the grain matches.
Maybe I should try photographing with the nib out & see if I can get any sales doing it that way, of course it could simply just be that they aren't very good lol

flexi

Executive Member
First Name
mark