• Thanks for visiting The Penturners Forum today.

There are many features and resources that currently you are unable to see or access, either because you're not yet registered, or if you're already registered, because you're not logged in.

To gain full access to the forum, please log in or register now. Registration is completely free, it only takes a few seconds, and you can join our well established community of like-minded pen makers.

Camouflage Polymer Pen

L33

First Name
Lee
Hi all,

I've been asked to make a camouflage pen for a friend of a friend who's into wildlife photography. I've bought the clay and have an idea on how to get the camo effect. However, what I am unsure about, as I've never used PC before is....well...everything haha.

Couple of questions I can think of so far is...

1. Once the clay is ready, is it simply rolled onto the tube...or does it need adhesive of some kind first?
2. Does it shrink when baked.
3. Can it be turned when set, or just sanded?
4. Is sanding similar to acrylic ie. Micro pads etc.
5. Does PC need a finish? I.e. Ca, Melamime or just micro padding

If anyone can help it would be really great :)

Thanks everyone

Lons

Fellow
First Name
Bob
Why didn't you just buy a camo blank Lee. Plastic, and not expensive. I got mine from Vince at The Turners Workshop but they aren't difficult to find. Several colours available

Penpal

Grand Master
First Name
Peter
There is a wonderful article by West Australian Bob Wemm on the RHS of the front page of the US Penturners Forum that will give you a comprehensive answer to most of your questions.If not it and besides it is in their Library.

Peter.

L33

First Name
Lee
There is a wonderful article by West Australian Bob Wemm on the RHS of the front page of the US Penturners Forum that will give you a comprehensive answer to most of your questions.If not it and besides it is in their Library.

Peter.

Hi Peter...I'm struggling to find it...you don't have a link do you?

Vic Perrin